THE STAIRCASE Review - The Horrors of a Flawed Justice System

Над видео могла бы быть ваша реклама.
15 ratings | 2395 views
Под видео могла бы быть ваша реклама.


THE STAIRCASE Review - The Horrors of a Flawed Justice System

Netflix Documentary Series THE STAIRCASE REVIEW. DanHartRSC's review of the latest true crime documentary on Netflix about Michael Peterson and the death of his wife that landed him in jail. THE STAIRCASE will be out on the 8th June on Netflix. Dan's written review! Subscribe! DanHartRSC's review of THE STAIRCASE - showing the horrors of a flawed justice system - listen to Dan Hart and Laura review the 13 episode season. Comment below and share your review of THE STAIRCASE - do you think Michael Peterson is innocent or guilty? Find DanHartRSC on Twitter: Make sure to check out the RSC website:

Comments to the video: THE STAIRCASE Review - The Horrors of a Flawed Justice System

Cesare Beccaria 1 month ago
Three liars here: Peterson, the prosecution, and the biggest of all--Lestrade and his editor, who happened to be having a relationship with Peterson all during the filming and editing (eeoooh!) That's why the documentary left out the testimony about Kathleen being sole owner of the mansion, having a $1.4 million life insurance and about to lose her job, Michael earning almost nothing from his writing, the two adult boys both in debt over their heads, and the Petersons were in debt while spending $100k a year more than they earned. I've read a half dozen external reviews of this film. Only Ruthless Reviews called it right. NYT clearly just collected their check and knocked out a positive based on a trailer. Pitiful. This one? Also wrong. Does the concept of fact checking have any subscribers any more? If you watched and were shocked by the guilty verdict, did you wonder why?
Ivan Great 8 months ago
Take a look guys
Julia Young 9 months ago
Innocent. Made me very emotional. Couple of things I wanted to say throughout most of the documentary Mr. Peterson is drinking wine. This led me to believe that he and his wife were avid drinkers. She had been drinking and on valium at time of fall. Secondly Her wounds were superficial nothing deep no head trauma. If he wanted her dead she would have sustained heavier blows. I really feel Dr. Henry Lee was on point with his result.
Pia Tukia 9 months ago
can you explain in your opinion how did the blood got into the wall 7 feet high?
Julia Young 9 months ago
Also medications can cause you to bleed more. I'm curious if was on a daily aspirin regimen or blood thinners
Wolfhound 9 months ago
Here’s why I think he’s guilty. If you polled 1000 random people and showed them the photos of Kathleens body and asked them their assumption of what happened or what they would say to a 911 agent if they had found her.I bet all of them would say “it looks like she’s been attacked and there’s blood everywhere”. Not one would assume right away she’d just fallen down the stairs. M Peterson did the opposite. He “assumed” she’d fallen down the stairs and somehow left out mentioning the blood everywhere.
Wolfhound 9 months ago
joe jackson the fact that you just described her that specific way is interesting though, don’t you think? That’s how EVERYBODY describes it. But not Peterson. No mention of blood or bleeding at all.
joe jackson 9 months ago
Would the people you polled be polled right after they found their love of their life lieing on the floor covered in blood?
lily fae 9 months ago
Wolfhound wouldn’t have thought of it like that wow
KraphtOne 9 months ago
Don’t remember them mentioning the bloody footprint on her back. Or that it was 50 degrees outside where he claimed to be chilling in shorts for a couple hours at 1 in the morning. or that his son Todd, who doesn’t live there somehow got there before the police. or the 2 million dollar life insurance policy.
Cathryn McLean 9 months ago
.dont be naieve.I supported a man arrested and charged of a vicious rape through crown court here in the UK and couldnt believe what I experienced.it was like Disneyland.!!.I was the only person in the public gallery throughout the case .1) the prosecutor bought up rubbish based on what she had seen on the internet.it was rubbish I was shocked.2).the local paper also reported rubbish - I wrote and asked them where they got their information.they told me from a reporter in the public gallery!.i said that's lies I was the only person in the public gallery.shocking blatant lies.this is going on.I threatened action and they apologised.after 2 years of being incarcerated he was fully equitted when the woman said she saw her offender in town whilst my friend was still in prison !!.in the meantime he lost his home.his belongings.his reputation.I was also shocked how much pressure the barrister was putting on him to plead guilty even though he was innocent and could prove it.luckily with my support he stuck to his guns.he is a severely mentally disabled person.if I wasnt there he would surely have been convicted.either way he lost.and I Lost my job for supporting him in court.as his carer I was legally entitled to take time off to do this but my employer disagreed which was a violation of employment law.who would want to work for her after that.our legal system is broken too.the people in it are in it for themselves and not following the rules.I tried to get him compensation after the ordeal but was met with a dead end as he wasnt convicted of the alleged crime.no winners here just a massive cost to the tax payer.shocking
Joyce Joseph 9 months ago
He WAS well to do but not rich in today's standard. Michael was NOT GUILTY. The entire prosecution team should be on trial for perjury and deception.
Cathryn McLean 9 months ago
Brilliant documentary over 10 years..i had a friend who took valium and other tranquilisers and drank 4 or 5 glasses of wine often when we went out..they collapsed out cold several times in public once causing a nose bleed and there was so much blood everywhere..luckily they didnt fall down the stairs and kill themselves as a blow on the doorframe would have lacerated her head and prob killed them too.but they could have done easily.in this case the DA Hardin seemed to have the police and scientists in his pocket from the beginning.he came across as a bully/thug to me adamant of getting his way and not interested in a detailed objective investigation.no dna tests on clothing, evidencial documentation purposely omitted, no objective evidence on head injuries and blood loss or drugs and alcohol..sadly I believe it happens all the time.corrupt government workers will hire scientists/ specialist/ researchers to prove whatever points they want or need and pay them well to do so.its those folks who need incarcerating..just look at how PCRM doctors who are non profit had to take the US government for saying eggs were healthy, the egg industry hired specialists to give the US govmnt test results they needed to say this.(requested ).its disgusting.just watching the body language of Hardin the DA at the time says alot.cheating and lying I think is worse in governments than in the private industries.its sickening.Hardin and his whole team should pay for their in competencies.its a crime. otherwise that practise will continue.
kabita gautam 8 months ago
Cathryn McLean very very true! That’s exactly how I felt after watching the show. Hardin team looked like literal villain to me. They just wanted to win the case. First they made a huge deal about blow poke being a murder weapon which they already found in 2002 but never mentioned. And there was other so called smart ass ‘Deever’ who have been creating evidence rather than going with the science and taking sides. It is so sad that somebody went to jail for 10 years, and couldn’t enjoy the moments of his life with his kids. I could not see mr.peterson has anything to do with the murder. You could see him being emotional even after 10 years , and it’s not acting like other people say. I guess the people who have been through in life will understand Peterson’s family love and struggle. They were always positive about the situation and would laugh away unlike Kathleen’s sister who even became ugly to a lawyer lol. He was not guilty at all. He kept on saying that until the last hearing.
Cathryn McLean 9 months ago
Anthony L hi.Dr Neil Barnard touches on it in this article.conflict of interest in government committees where members have ties to the industry.but contact him hes approachable.I think its vey common here in the UK too which is why policies dont make sense.its because those making decisions are biased and have financial gain.
Anthony L 9 months ago
Cathryn McLean Do you have more info on this PCRM case you mentioned?
Larissa Amber 9 months ago
Did I watch another documentary? This was PAINFULLY boring and I personally believe that he's guilty based on the evidence and intuition. Theirs was way too much time in this docuseries of mundane conversation that was irrelevant to the case at all. This follows the Making a Murderer trend of documentary series that shows you a sad situation without any justice and no closure at all. Waste of time in my opinion.
The Opinionist High Quality Opinions 9 months ago
Larissa Amber I can understand completely why you say that, even if I don't feel the same way. At first I did, then the more time passed I realized that for me personally at least, that was the only way I ended up getting a real feel for just what kind of personality the guy really has. That's just me though. I think it was probably way too long and boring for lots of people. By the way, did you notice how many times this guy joked about the death of his supposedly beloved wife? On a personal note, I was married for sixteen years to a real, true soul mate. I'd been married before and I know the difference between a husband and a soul mate. My soul mate died of cancer less than two years ago. I know that everybody is different, but to me even the thought of laughing about his death is just horrendous and my husband wasn't even murdered, with me as the accused killer!!! This guy is such a psychopath!! Anyway, that's all. I just wanted to tell you that I understand your point.
Miriam Gaytan 9 months ago
That foo is guilty
damianraver 9 months ago
Sure had no emotional remorse to claim the event as an accident.
The Opinionist High Quality Opinions 9 months ago
To DanHartRSC-You must not have known many criminals in your life if you honestly believe this guy is not guilty as sin. As someone who has, unfortunately, known many criminals due to my thirty five years of experience as an ex opiate user, I can absolutely assure you that this man is a MAJOR manipulator and due to his lack of any type of feelings of guilt (he's a good actor) I'd say he's probably a psychopath too. This story about the owl is ridiculous. What did the owl do? Strangle her also? You shouldn't take the staircase event in Germany lightly either, as he was guilty of that one too and I believe that his first wife knew that he'd done it. I've no doubt whatsoever about the horrendous system of justice in North Carolina and think that the cops, etc. were extremely sleazy and corrupt. That doesn't change a thing, unfortunately. I also think that the younger of the two adopted daughters had some very serious doubts, despite the fact that she towed the family line and insisted upon his innocence. One could see her whole demeanor change once the trial started and she heard some of the evidence. By the way, Petersen's lawyer was just about as awful as they come. Not only could I not even look at him, but he gives even lawyers a bad name, which is pretty hard to do!!
Mariyeen Acheege 4 months ago
Yup, MP is a blathering idiot but guilty as hell. If anyone thinks the first staircase fall and this one have nothing to do with each other, I’ve got a bridge to sell. Also, I read somewhere of a house guest coming over to swim in the pool. Apparently the dog was so excited he jumped in too, which he was in the habit of doing and MP forbade. So apparently MP took the dog and beat it against the edge of a fountain to teach it a lesson. It was so badly hurt Martha intercepted. I think he’s got a sadistic streak. I feel sorry for this whole family, especially that daughter who lost her dear mom.
The Opinionist High Quality Opinions 9 months ago
Rainey J I couldn't agree more!! I hadn't thought about the hair color thing, but you've got it absolutely right in my opinion. I read over my comment and I realize now that it sounded kind of mean or arrogant. I really wasn't feeling that way. Just enthusiastic, but it came out badly. Anyway, after the evidence of his character began to come out, I definitely saw a big change in the two adopted daughters, but the change in the younger of the two was the most striking. Even her language changed regarding the case. It's way too hard for me to explain here, but I REALLY noticed it!! Something I forgot to say was that I think that Kathleen's sister's final statement was anything BUT crazy, as the daughter called it. I don't understand why she was so angry with the documentary makers though. I think the doc did a great AND VERY SUBTLE JOB, of showing just how guilty he was, without coming right out and saying it. I think she should take another look at it, with the new episodes, and maybe she'd change her mind. I moved to Italy almost 25 years ago so I missed the entire story and know only what I've seen here. My sister and her husband live down the street from the original Peterson home though, so I was even more interested when I realized where the whole thing took place!!
The Opinionist High Quality Opinions 9 months ago
Cat S. I agree with you. I've heard shrinks say, in past cases that I've followed, that many times when you see someone who never loses his /her temper that it doesn't mean that they don't have a temper, but that they're suppressing it and that when the suppressed anger does finally come out, it's a whopper of a coming out. As far as the OJ thing goes, you've said it perfectly. He was a great example of someone who the public would never have thought capable of doing what he did. You know, I spent an entire year of my life watching that trial. When I think about that, I can't believe it!! Also, I re read my comment and I still feel the same way, but I realize that I have a tendency to write as if everything is black or white and I know that there are lots of shades of grey in reality. Anyway, thanks for replying to me! You gave me a chance to think about the reality of what you've said!!
Cat S. 9 months ago
The Opinionist High Quality Opinions, I too always find it hard to imagine someone actually killing when they have that charm about them, kind of like OJ. But one of the investigators said you'd have to have a really really really bad temper. That wouldn't mean that you're a bad person overall, just able to lose control especially when under the influence. That's the only way I can make sense out of it and it is tragic.
Rainey J 9 months ago
The Opinionist High Quality Opinions So so true & especially about Martha. When the reporter asked her usually & the scene with her and MP @ the cemetery. Also, the way they changed their hair color to green, simple but to me it says they are trying to rebel quietly within. Hard to explain on a YouTube comment section.
Michael S 9 months ago
he's guilty.
MsWhoEverWhatEver 9 months ago
😋 🤣
Loawercs31 9 months ago
I watched it, it was a good documentary but no where near as good as the others Netflix has produced. That said I believe he murdered both women, just not the way the DA argued. His 911 call also felt very poorly acted out. Worth a watch though.
MsWhoEverWhatEver 9 months ago
Innocent being bisexual doesn’t make you a killer.
damianraver 9 months ago
MsWhoEverWhatEver here is a video that covers what the series left out. It's very informative, oh and he's a lawyer as well. .
damianraver 9 months ago
Rainey J there was a motive, an insurance policy at $1.8ish million. This was left out of the movie. A lot was left out of the movie. Go do some research and the victim had bruising in her throat as well, which means she was choked.
Rainey J 9 months ago
damianraver a motive tho 🤔
damianraver 9 months ago
MsWhoEverWhatEver look at the evidence. Nobody cares about his sexuality.
Carmella 9 months ago
Twisted end. Left me confused.
Cat S. 9 months ago
Nice job reviewing this. I actually watched the trial on Court TV when it happened and you're right that the media was definitely biased against him. If he were poor, even he says it in the documentary, he wouldn't stand a chance. I do have a question- how could she have gotten those injuries from falling down the stairs? Do you think the owl theory is relevant?
Cat S. 9 months ago
Sharyn Bitzer, Yes, the family is so likeable, they had me wanting to find another way that she died but it was just too much pointing at him.
Sharyn Bitzer 9 months ago
I watched it on court tv too back then. I so wanted to believe he was innocent but I can't feel that way now. He's a piece of work.
DanHartRSC 9 months ago
Cat S. It's not totally new. I think the old episodes came out I'm 2004 but the last 5/6 episodes are brand new. I reckon something similar will happen in 14 years time with Making a Murderer. I don't think Michael Peterson is guilty - I think it was a very unfortunate accident. And the motives created by the prosecution didn't add up to me.
Cat S. 9 months ago
DanHartRSC, Hi -yes, will definitely be watching on Netflix. I'm disappointed that it's not a totally new one, but it's very compelling even if you've seen it already. I feel like the wounds look like an owl did it but that would not explain the cast off on ceiling in hall outside stairs and her thyroid cartilage was fractured in her neck. Very hard to imagine how that happened. but still freaky that she had owl feathers in her hands!
DanHartRSC 9 months ago
Cat S. Thank you so much for the feedback. I agree re: the media. I am surprised the US haven't made a law regarding media coverage. The owl theory is very convincing but then again I did see more legimitacy in the defence investigation than the prosecutuon even without the owl. Like the glow poke stuff was absolute rubbish! Are you going to check out the new episodes on Netflix?